Fabric Collage Quilting from Susan Carlson Quilts

Susan Carlson Quilts

IMG_6573 A Quilt Gallery replica birdhouse given to Joan the shop owner from her employees for her birthday. Joan’s longhorn fabric collage seems to perch on the quilt store’s roof.

When one thinks of quilting meccas, I guess Kalispell, Montana, isn’t the first place to spring to mind. However, I am one of a number of quilting teachers who return to this sleepy little western town each year.

The attraction is the Quilt Gallery, owned and operated by Joan Hodgeboom, who runs a first-class fabric store and first-rate teaching venue.

My annual trek to Montana takes place either in late June or early July. This year I only had time in my schedule for one 5-day session. Joan has me committed to two weeks next year. Students come from all over the country. The class size is limited to fifteen, instead of the usual twenty, which is nice for both teacher and student.

Having…

View original post 511 more words

